CNY Holz Food Venture

Well well it was awesome to be back home for Chinese New Year this time. I really went on rampage for food.

The first day I got back, I started off with this Ice-Cream at the airport while waiting for my dad to get out of jam to pick us up for lunch. I didn’t manage to notice the shop name because I was too busy chatting with my bro and my other bro was the 1 buying. I wasn’t really crazy over it because it was way too sweet for me. I didn’t even finish mine.

When finally, my dad came then we headed for lunch at a place near Independence monument. Again, I was too busy chit chatting to notice the restaurant name. All I knew was that my bro’s colleagues like to come and eat here. The food was great! or was it because I was so hungry? nah, because my parents and bro said they were too. I couldn’t really recall exactly what we ate. Only remember my deep fried pork rib and remember vaguely that we had a nice soup too. Then at night we headed to my parents’ most favorite restaurant – the Chinese restaurant. I never really know its name because my parents always call it the Chinese restaurant (ហាងចិន) They wanted to bring me there to eat Lobster Soup (ស្ងោជ្រក់បង្កង) and Honey Roasted Duck (ទាក្វៃទឹកឃ្មុំ) but unfortunately, their roasted duck ran out. So instead we had the lobster soup, Special Garlic Fried Pork Rib (ឆ្អឹងជម្នីជ្រូកបំពង), Khor Pig Intestine (ខពោះវៀនជ្រូក), and Fried Egg with Minced Pork (ពងទាចៀនសាច់ជ្រូកចញ្រ្ចាំ). It was ecstatic! It’s really been a long while since I last had Cambodian food. I loved the pork rib mainly because it’s crispy and meaty at the same time and mix their very nice fish sauce  just did the trick for me. The pig intestine was to my taste too. It was sweet and intestines were soft and tender, yet a bit chewy. Yummy! Needless to say, the lobster soup was most of awesome! Come on, it’s lobster! And that’s that for the night.

The next day was Chinese New Year, which means?? More food! Woke, prepare altar, do the ritual, so on and so forth. Then it was lunch time. For our little CNY reunion lunch, we had Fried Chicken, Steam Chicken, and other 2 dishes which I don’t know how to call it in English but 1 is soup which consist of assorted meats and vegetable (សម្លរចាប់ឆាយ) and something like fried meet roll (ហ៊ែគឹង). The Soup and Heh Keng were great! we quickly finished off our lunch, packed up, locked up the house and hit the road for the beach. We reach KPS around dinner time and had dinner at the beach. I’ll skip the dinner because it wasn’t any special. Quite horrible in fact. Next morning, after some action in the pool, we went for the hotel breakfast buffet where I had (បាយសាច់ជ្រូក), fried noodle, fried chicken and some ice coffee with milk. Delicious. They had plenty of other stuffs like Khmer curry noodle, plain porridge with salty fried fish, salted egg, ham, toast etc. After that we headed for Hawaii beach for lunch. There, we ordered Steamed Crab (ក្ដាមស្ងោ) and BBQ Squid (មឹកអាំង). Then I cleaned my stomach with some delicious Mandarin, Grapes, Longan, and Yellow Bean Cake Roll (Don’t really know its name). The crab was really good but the Squid not so because I liked it well cooked but this one we had still have the liquid liquid thing inside the squid and doesn’t taste so cooked and the BBQ smell was also not that strong. Well, in any case, after lunch we rest for awhile and off we went. Back home. We reached back PP around dinner time. We went to Lim Try (លឹមទ្រី) for dinner. I had Sam Chouk Porridge (បបរសាមចូក) and Plain Porridge (បបរស) with fried Chinese sausage (សាច់ក្រកចៀន), and Fried Egg with Proh Ma Fish (ពងទាចៀនត្រីប្រម៉ា). I’ve been dying to have (បបរសាមចូក) for so long. I thought finally I could enjoy it. But not so much because (បបរសាមចូក) there sucks. It was too watery and the porridge texture was quite grainy. But, sausage and fried egg were good, especially the sausage! With that, it was another day.

Then came Tuesday a day with my Sweetie. We had Kway Teow Soup (គុយទាវ) near Sovanna for breakfast. I have not much comment because I find most of the the Kway Teow in Cambodia are very nice. It’s probably because I’m too deprived of it. Then we went to grab an ice milk coffee at my sweetie’s favorite. It cheap and good but I still think the one at You&Me in front of my house is better. After that somehow we ended up having a very late lunch at City Mall Lucky Burger. We had 3 piece chicken meal set. After that we waited to go for dinner with friends at Khmer Thai Restaurant. On the way there in the evening, she stopped at road side shop to introduce me an extremely cheap and nice Sugar Cane (ទឹកអំពៅ) shop. I was totally stunned that there’s still such a cheap Sugar Cane around these day. We were early, so we waited for others to come. When all were here we headed inside. Let’s see what we had. Hmm… there was this Fish Soup (សម្លរម្ជូរត្រី?) which was a bit like Tom Yum bit like Som Lor Mju. I couldn’t tell. Then we also ordered Fried Chicken Wings, Fish Cake, and Papaya Salad. Yeah again. The sauce that came with the wings was really good. After dinner, we bid farewell.

Next day morning, I had Cambodian Pork Rice (បាយសាច់ជ្រូក) with Kon Chrouk. After that we went for lunch around 2pm+, we were kind of in a rush. So we wanted to grab something quick. But when we walked passed Pizza World, we had a such a sudden crave for it. So we were like “heck it! let’s eat in Pizza World.” We ordered Bolognese Spaghetti, Seafood Spaghetti, Bread sticks, Fried Chicken wings, and Chicken Mushroom Soup. Their spaghetti sucks, very oily and tasteless. Nothing like spaghetti. I’ve tried a lot of spaghetti and it’s one of my favorite food. I really can’t stand it when it’s that sucky. But the disappointment was compensated by the other 3 dishes. Their bread stick was awesome. Slightly sweet and softly crispy. yummy! Their chicken wings were terrific too especially when mixed with their honey BBQ sauce. Superb! Last but not least the Chicken Mushroom Soup. LOL it’s the first time ever I heard of such thing. Usually, only it’s just mushroom soup. This mushroom soup is different from what I usually have in Singapore because they seem to add a Cambodian touch to it which made it taste less Westernized and more homely. If you know what I mean. Bottom line, go and try it! 😉 After that we went for Karaoke a while. In the evening, we met up with some friend for some Steamboat. I didn’t remember the steamboat place name. Or does it even have a name? Anyway, I just know it’s near Kirirom Curtain Shop. Steamboat was really good and affordable. New nice food place added to my list. lolz After that, I was so full. When reached back home, there were some left over dinner and my dad bought me one Cambodian Sandwitch (? នំបុ័ងសាច់). I gobbled them up while enjoying TV with my family. I know. I’m sick! But what to do, can’t have food left and thrown away. That would be wasteful.

On Thursday, I was supposed to help Sweetie with her project. So I had Chicken rice (បាយសាច់មាន់) and my favorite ice milk coffee at home before heading to Viking House just to have 2nd breakfast!. -__-” So yes, I ordered Vegetarian Noodle (មីបួសស៊ុប) and Lychee Snow Blend with Colorful Jelly and Pearl (ពីងសាគូលែនដាក់ចរណៃនិងគុជ). I didn’t recall we actually any lunch that day. We stayed there until it was too crowded for comfort and we got sleepy as well. So left to take a nap until afternoon we met again at Park Cafe Sovanna with her teammates to continue the project. During the project. I again had ice milk coffee with Seafood Spaghetti. The seafood spaghetti at Park Cafe was much better than Pizza World but their ice milk coffee cannot make it. And overpriced as well. Then for snack we had Fried Spring Roll and French Fries. The fish sauce for the Fried Spring Roll was delicious. Again we drown ourselves in project work till dinner time, where we left for Sovanna for dinner at Master Suki Soup. Well, I have Master Suki Soup very often every time I go back home. So nothing worth complementing about. With that, that was it for the day.

Friday. Woke up early. Rush to Sovanna for final stretch of project work before the actual the day. Drop by Lucky to get some Croissant and Chocolate Croissant for breakfast. Then headed up T&C upstairs to do work. There we ordered a Mocha Frappe. I gotta say I’m too in love with Starbuck Mocha Frappe. So far I haven’t found any other that matches it. And this T&C’s one also not either. But at least it’s drinkable. Too engrossed with our work, we ended up having a late lunch. Me and sweetie for lunch buffet at Korean BBQ. A lot of people told me the buffet there is overpriced. But I didn’t really think so. I think for what we ate it was considered cheap for buffet. Or is it because we were so hungry that day that we ate so much?? Well, I couldn’t tell but I still think for US$7.80, it’s okay for a buffet. Including vegetable, we ordered a total of 24 plates. Epic! lol We worked till late evening. Until my parents came and pick me up for dinner. We went Mutton BBQ (ពពែភ្នំភ្លឺង). It’s long since become our tradition to go for Mutton BBQ every time I go home. It’s the only time of the year that all of us get to have it. Though the shop has expanded but the food quality is getting worse and worse.

Saturday was sweetie’s Competition day. I went to support her and got free lunch from the event. Four of us had two and a half regular size pizza from Pizza Company. I didn’t really  know what flavor they were but they taste pretty. It was too much for us though we didn’t finish it. Besides that, there were free Swensen’s Ice Cream too. After the competition was over, we return home to prepare for the closing ceremony at Phnom Penh hotel in the evening. Time for some big hotel buffet! They had plenty of things. I ignored the salad portion. Didn’t even bother to look at them. For the main meal, I had this BBQ pork/beef I can’t remember. Then roasted duck, curry chicken, mee goreng (to my surprise)…and other stuff that I couldn’t recall. The only really I really remember from the buffet was how good their water melon was and their Blueberry Cheese Cake!

Then it was Sunday. First thing was brunch with sweetie at BBQ Chicken Sovanna. We ordered their special lunch set meal. I gotta their honey grill/BBQ chicken was awesome! How I wish they have it in Singapore. We skipped lunch. Then around afternoon, we went for Snow Yogurt at Sovanna. We ordered 1 blueberry flavor and 1 original. I ordered my original with gummy bear and raisin topping. Seriously I didn’t remember Snow Yogurt was this bad. The last time my bro brought me to the one at Koh Pich, I thought it was awesome! But this time, it wasn’t at all. The taste was a bit weird and plain, and the topping was all hard and frozen. Sigh…. Then we hang around there and kill sometime till our time to meet with some friends for ice cream at Toto. At Toto, I had Strawberry Waffles and Chocolate Waffles. Yeap, that’s right double servings! Total 4 big scoops and 2 waffles. That’s how good it was~! no kidding! My friends said the strawberry was quite sour but somehow, I kinda like it that way. The chocolate hmps! yummy. It was like almost as good as Awfully Chocolate. My 2nd bro said it was too sweet but I gotta agree with my 3rd bro that I wasn’t. To round of the day, I went to Master Suki Soup (Yeap again!) with her sisters.

Monday. Time to fly back. the last thing I had was breakfast with my family at their favorite breakfast. I had Kway Toew Soup (គុយទាវ), Yu Tao (ចាខ្វៃ) and Ice Milk Coffee (កាហេ្វទឹកដោះគោ)…. All in all, my CNY food adventure at home was EPIC!!! I love it. Can’t wait to go have another food adventure especially with my lovely sweetie. I won’t say we a big food nerd or hard core enthusiasts. But we’re definitely on the same frequency when it comes to talking about and going around trying out food.

CNY Holz Food Venture

One thought on “CNY Holz Food Venture

  1. You post interesting posts here. Your blog deserves
    much more traffic. It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know useful service that can help you, just type in google:
    svetsern traffic tips

Leave a Reply

