Cloud Atlas (2012)

Cloud Atlas-0081-20121015-96

6/10

Cloud Atlas is about…. errr… everything is connected somehow? I’m also not sure what it is exactly about after sitting through the show. But this is what IMDB says:

An exploration of how the actions of individual lives impact one another in the past, present and future, as one soul is shaped from a killer into a hero, and an act of kindness ripples across centuries to inspire a revolution.

So I guess every different scenes, settings, scenarios that happened in the movie supposed to be connected and make sense to you somehow at the end. But well it didn’t to me. Maybe I’m not that smart nor sophisticated enough. This is probably one the movies that my personal rating is quite far off from IMDB average rating. I have watched enough movies to know that when it starts showing different unrelated scene, they all suppose to be connected and start making sense somehow as the story goes. But Cloud Atlas didn’t do that for me, I was still puzzled even after the show ended. The movie does show the connection somehow but the problem is that after I saw connection I was like okay so that’s how the scenes are linked so what does that all mean actually, besides the fact that they’re connected across ages, space and time? Well, not much for me. So I was left feeling like I’ve wasted a whole 3 hrs.

So all in all, I’d say this show is not recommended unless you’re able to see the profound meaning behind all these connection for yourself. Otherwise, you’d be left wondering the exact same thing I did. “What the hell was all that about?”

Cloud Atlas (2012)

Leave a Reply

